Secondary Education / 11 to 16

Pupils who go on to Year 7 do so at approximately 11 years of age and, during this stage, they are taught by teachers who specialise in each subject. A tutor is responsible for the academic progress and personal development of the pupils in their group.

This stage covers two cycles:

The subjects taught in this cycle, which are the same for all the pupils, are as follows:

  • Mathematics
  • English
  • Science (Physics, Chemistry, Biology)
  • Geography
  • History
  • English Literature
  • Spanish Literature
  • Art and Design
  • IT
  • Physical Education
  • French
  • Music
  • Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education

In addition to those listed, the following subjects are also offered as part of the Spanish studies:

(*) Non-Spanish speaking pupils take Spanish language classes only and follow a specific learning programme for foreign pupils.

  • Spanish Language (*)
  • Valencian Language
  • Spanish History
  • Religion

Key Stage 3

At the end of this three year stage pupils sit Cambridge Checkpoint final exams in order to have an external assessment of the level acquired in subjects such as English, Science and Maths.

The exams, as well as preparing pupils for future exams, enable us to design, together with their ongoing personal assessment throughout the year, tailored educational programmes for each pupil.

Key Stage 4

This Secondary Education stage covers two year groups: Year 10 and Year 11. It is the final stage of compulsory education and is the equivalent of the two final years (3rd and 4th) of the Spanish Secondary Compulsory Education System (ESO).

The main objective of these two vital years of secondary education is to prepare for the IGCSE examinations (International General Certificate of Secondary Education), which pupils must sit at the end of Year 11.

The subjects that pupils must take over this cycle are divided into common and elective subjects. Pupils must have passed at least five subjects (with a C or above) at this level to be able to go on to the following stage, which is equivalent to the Spanish Secondary Education Certificate (Bachillerato). (Three of them must be chosen from English Language, Mathematics, Science and Spanish Language).

The subjects are chosen by pupils at the end of Year 9 (Key Stage 3) and will be studied throughout the following stage.

Elective IGCSE subjects, three should be chosen from those offered in sections I, II , III

English speaking pupils may choose English as a first language, while others may choose English as a second language. The former may also choose Spanish as a second language.

    Geography / History
    Art and Design / IT / PE
    German / Mandarin Chinese

Communication between the school and parents continues to be of vital importance for correct academic and personal development. School-parent communication is also constant throughout the stage and parents are informed, via occasional meetings, the school diary or our Intranet, of any aspect relevant to their children’s school life.